Being Angry With the Truth

truth.jpg

“The truth will set you free. But before it does it will make you angry.” Jerry Joiner

Nothing makes us more angry than to discover the truth about something and realize that it changes everything. The reason we tend to be so good at fooling ourselves, minimizing the abuse and making excuses for the abuser’s behavior, is that deep down we know that once we admit we are indeed being emotionally abused and we recognize how damaging it is to us, we will be forced to change the situation.

Like the woman who suspects her husband of cheating but doesn’t really want to know because the knowledge will force her to act, we may not really want to know we are being abused. Denial often lulls us into a false security, while the hard truth is like a cold shower or a slap in the face.

As much as you may hate the truth, it is a wake-up call.

Encouragements For The Emotionally Abused Woman.. Beverly Engel, M.F.C.C.

PLEASE TAKE A FEW MOMENTS TO PARTICIPATE IN OUR POLL

One Response to “Being Angry With the Truth”

  1. chris Says:

    I just read your blog. In some ways my husband is abusive, not in the same way though. He actually feels bad when I confront him. I know all woman who are abused say this…when I say abuse, i mean emotional. He withdraws and gets edgy when I ask him direct questions. He attacks me about my weiight when I confront his anger issues. He barely talks to me but becomes almost a different person when he talks to anyone else. why am i making excuses. Is there a way to pull myself up and out without leaving and without damaging my daughters? What do you think?


Leave a comment